RSS (Real Simple Syndication) Feeds allow users to subscribe to blogs, news sources, and other content feeds that they choose. Rather than allowing an algorithm to guess at your interests and recommend relevant sources, RSS feeds allow users to customize their results and stay up to date on the content they care about. Additionally, rather than routinely checking in on blogs and authors we care about, RSS feeds can instantly show us new posts. RSS Feed services like “The Old Reader” have wide range of notification settings so users can customize their experience.

I subscribed to my classmates blogs so I can quickly find and comment on their recent posts. Additionally, I subscribed to some science and technology blogs including “The Verge”, “NASASpaceFlight.com”, and “Science News”. These sources should help me stay current on science and technology current events so that I can keep students up to date on events and help them see the relevance of science in their everyday lives. I also subscribed to some private blogs including “Diary of a 6th Grade Teacher”, “Pushing Through 6th Grade”, and “Reflections of a Science Teacher”. These blogs share advice for teaching young adolescents, classroom management practices, links to science teaching web resources, and daily reflections. I am hopeful that as I continue to subscribe to relevant resources, I will be able to use RSS feeds for professional development and growth.


One response to “4-1 RSS Feeds”

  1. Chris Avatar
    Chris

    Elizabeth – Using tools like an RSS feed can definitely be a time saver! It reminds me of how on FB we can subscribe or follow a page or group but without the algorithm making decisions of what we see!

    Chris

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started